Need to restore factory settings to your phone, but not sure how to do it? Whether you’re an Android or iOS user, it only takes a few simple steps to complete the process.
Why factory reset a phone?
As the term suggests, a factory reset will restore your device to its original state - just like it was fresh out of the box. All your information and settings will be erased, including downloaded apps, photos and contacts.
Why would you want to wipe your data from your phone, we hear you ask? There are a handful of different reasons.
If you're ready for an upgrade and wish to sell your old phone (either yourself or through a mobile recycling service), it's vital you reset it first. It's a requirement by most mobile recycling services, and it'll make sure none of your important details (such a saved bank cards) are passed on.
If you plan on passing on your phone to a friend or family member, it'll help to give them that new-phone experience (and stop them from snooping through your photos or ruining your high score on Candy Crush).
How to restore factory settings on an Android
With so many different Android manufacturers out there, the process to factory reset your specific phone might vary slightly from the steps below. However, the key steps remain the same - usually the wording is just different.
For our example, we'll be showing you how to factory reset a Google Pixel:
- If your device is on, switch it off.
- Hold down the power and volume buttons simultaneously. Instead of starting up normally, a different screen will appear. For some Android devices, this screen will take you onto step 4 automatically. However, in the Pixel 2's case, a 'Start' arrow will appear, pointing in the direction of the power button.
- Pixel 2 users should use the volume buttons to browse the options available, stopping on 'Recovery Mode'. Select this by pressing the power button.
- The phrase 'No Command' will appear. Press and hold down the power and volume up buttons to continue. (If Recovery Mode doesn't start on your device by doing this, you may just need to wait 10 to 15 seconds for it to begin automatically).
- Once Recovery Mode is underway, use the volume buttons once again to highlight 'Wipe data/factory reset'.
- Select by pressing the power button.
- Choose yes to confirm the reset.
To reset your iPhone, please see instructions on our blog, How to factory reset your iPhone.
Now that your old smartphone has been restored to its factory settings, it might be time for an upgrade. Get your hands on the latest devices, at amazing prices, from Mobiles.co.uk today.